Two half-day tours sell the same morning at Uluru, the rock a great many travellers still search for as Ayers Rock: up before dawn, a sunrise, then the 36 domes of Kata Tjuta and a walk into Walpa Gorge. AAT Kings runs it as a coach tour from A$209. SEIT runs it as a small-group tour at A$249. Forum threads ask which one to book as if they were rivals, and the single most useful fact about them is that they are not: AAT Kings took an ownership stake in SEIT in October 2019, SEIT's privacy statement is issued from AAT Kings' parent company's Sydney office, and AAT Kings' own website lists SEIT among its tour styles. You are choosing between one company's coach and its small-group brand.

That does not make the choice meaningless. The two mornings are built differently, and the difference that matters most is not the price or the group size but where you are standing when the sun comes up. Every figure below was read on the operators' own websites and live booking schedules in October 2026, and where an operator does not state something we say so rather than guess.

AAT KingsA$219 to 31 Oct 2026, then A$209 · 5 hrs · coach · sunrise at Uluru, then Kata Tjuta
SEITA$249 · 5 hrs · max 15 · sunrise at Kata Tjuta itself, picnic breakfast
Both leave outThe A$38 park pass, compulsory for every adult, free under 18
Both walkWalpa Gorge, 2.6 km return, Grade 3, about an hour. Neither does the Valley of the Winds
CancellationAAT Kings full refund to 24 hrs out · SEIT full refund only 6 or more days out
OwnershipAAT Kings has held a stake in SEIT since October 2019

Where you watch the sun come up

This is the decision. AAT Kings' Uluru Sunrise and Kata Tjuta tour, trip code Y14, starts at Talinguru Nyakunytjaku, the park's dedicated Uluru sunrise viewing area, with tea, coffee or hot chocolate and biscuits while the light comes onto the rock. Only then does the coach drive the 45 km to Kata Tjuta, walk Walpa Gorge, and stop at the dune viewing platform for a view of the domes' southern side on the way home. You get Uluru at sunrise and Kata Tjuta in full morning light.

SEIT's Kata Tjuta tour goes the other way. It drives straight to Kata Tjuta before dawn, so the sunrise you watch is the 36 domes turning red, not Uluru. Breakfast is a picnic on the western side of Kata Tjuta, then Walpa Gorge, then back to the resort. Uluru is not on the itinerary at all. The operator sells the Uluru sunrise as a separate three-hour tour, Highlights of Uluru including sunrise and breakfast, at A$189.

So if you have one morning and want the famous shot of Uluru at first light, SEIT's Kata Tjuta tour is the wrong booking however good the reviews are. If you have two mornings, or you are doing Uluru at sunset or on a base walk anyway, a sunrise at Kata Tjuta is the one most visitors never see, because the standard Uluru sunrise tours do not go there.

Kata Tjuta

Coach or Sprinter, biscuits or breakfast

SEIT's website caps the tour at 15 people and its booking listing names the vehicle as a Mercedes-Benz Sprinter. Its listing text also says no more than 11 participants, which is the older figure from when the company ran 11-seat buses; we publish the 15 the operator's own site states today. AAT Kings does not publish a group size for Y14. Its page mentions USB chargers on large vehicles and the tour travels in an air-conditioned coach, so expect a coach rather than a minibus, but treat the exact number as not stated.

Food is the other visible difference. SEIT includes a light outback picnic breakfast and refillable water. AAT Kings includes tea, coffee or hot chocolate and biscuits at the sunrise viewing area and nothing else, so you are back at the resort around four hours after sunrise having eaten a biscuit. Both run with a live English-speaking guide, and both offer audio commentary in other languages: AAT Kings in German, Italian, Spanish, French and Mandarin via your own phone, SEIT in French, German, Spanish, Italian, Russian and Mandarin on complimentary iPods requested at booking.

  • AAT Kings Y14, A$219 adult on the live schedule to 31 October 2026, A$209 from 1 November 2026 to 31 March 2027, A$219 again from April 2027. Child 2 to 15 A$149 to A$155, infants under 2 free on a lap. Departs Ayers Rock Resort 90 minutes before sunrise, returns about 4 hours after it. Talinguru Nyakunytjaku sunrise, Walpa Gorge walk, Kata Tjuta dune viewing platform. Hotel pickup. AAT Kings' own site shows the same tour from A$209
  • SEIT Kata Tjuta, A$249 adult all year, child 5 to 15 A$200, infants 0 to 4 A$60 including a fitted car seat. About 5 hours, departs between 4:45am and 6:15am depending on the season. Sunrise at Kata Tjuta, picnic breakfast, Walpa Gorge walk, maximum 15. Pickup from Ayers Rock Resort hotels; Emu Walk guests are collected at Desert Gardens and Lost Camel guests at Sails in the Desert. SEIT's own site shows the identical A$249
  • Neither fare includes the Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park pass. Parks Australia sells it at A$38 for an adult for three consecutive days, free for anyone under 18. AAT Kings sells Y14 with the pass added at A$247; SEIT says to buy it online or from the guide

The walk is the same walk

Both tours walk Walpa Gorge, and only Walpa Gorge. Parks Australia grades it 3, 2.6 km return, about an hour, on a rocky track that rises gently to a seasonal creek between two of the tallest domes. AAT Kings rates the fitness needed as balanced and SEIT calls the walking grade moderate; both say sturdy enclosed shoes. Neither of these mornings goes anywhere near the Valley of the Winds.

That matters because the Valley of the Winds is the Kata Tjuta walk people have read about. Parks Australia grades it 4, steep, rocky and difficult in places: 2.2 km return to Karu lookout, 5.4 km return to Karingana lookout, 7.4 km for the full circuit, and from 11am it closes beyond Karu whenever the forecast or actual temperature reaches 36 degrees. Both brands sell it as a separate, seasonal product: SEIT's Valley of the Winds walks the full 7.4 km circuit, A$249, April to October only, departing 6:30am or 7:30am, children under 5 not accepted. AAT Kings' Kata Tjuta Sunset and Valley of the Winds Walk goes to the 5.4 km Karingana lookout and finishes with sparkling wine at sunset, A$229 to A$239, and its booking schedule lists departures only from April to September 2027. If a long Kata Tjuta walk is the point of your trip, neither sunrise tour delivers it, and in summer nothing does after 11am.

One seasonal warning that SEIT prints on a sibling product and not on this one: its afternoon Kata Tjuta tour states it will not enter Walpa Gorge from December to March because of the heat, and may run as a scenic tour instead. The sunrise tour makes no such statement, and a dawn start is cooler, but ask before booking a December to March date if the gorge walk is why you are going.

Children, cancellation and the fine print

  • Children: AAT Kings takes them from age 2 at A$149 to A$155 and carries infants under 2 free on an adult's lap. SEIT's child fare starts at 5 and costs A$200, and children 0 to 4 travel as infants at A$60 because NT law requires a fitted car seat, which SEIT supplies. A family of two adults and two children aged 6 and 9 pays about A$740 with AAT Kings (A$219 fares, October) and A$898 with SEIT, before four park passes for the adults only, which is A$76 either way
  • Cancellation: AAT Kings refunds in full if you cancel at least 24 hours before departure. SEIT refunds in full only 6 or more days out, 50% between 2 and 6 days out, and nothing inside 2 days. For a dawn tour on a short trip, where a bad weather forecast or a late flight is the usual reason to cancel, that is a real difference
  • Pickup times move with sunrise. Both operators warn that the time on your voucher may not be the real one and ask you to reconfirm on arrival at the resort; AAT Kings sends an SMS and asks you to call 1300 228 546 if it does not arrive. The park opens at 5am in October and November, 5:30am in March and April, 6:30am in June and July, so winter departures are later and summer ones earlier
  • Photos: Walpa Gorge is fine to photograph. The Valley of the Winds is a culturally sensitive men's area and Parks Australia asks visitors not to photograph the rock formations from that track at all
  • Neither tour goes to the Cultural Centre or walks at the base of Uluru. AAT Kings' Uluru Culture and Kata Tjuta Trails, trip code Y16, does both (Walpa Gorge, the Cultural Centre and the Kuniya Walk to Mutitjulu Waterhole) in a six-hour day for A$165 at our link, A$155 on the operator's site, departing 9am

Who each one does not suit

  • Anyone who wants Uluru at sunrise: SEIT's Kata Tjuta tour never goes there. Book AAT Kings Y14, or book SEIT's separate Uluru sunrise tour
  • Anyone who wants a small group: AAT Kings does not publish a number and runs coaches. SEIT caps it at 15
  • Families with children under 5: SEIT charges A$60 per infant and A$200 from age 5; AAT Kings carries under-2s free and charges A$149 to A$155 from age 2
  • Anyone who may need to cancel late: SEIT keeps the whole fare inside 2 days and half of it inside 6. AAT Kings refunds to 24 hours out
  • Anyone who came for the Valley of the Winds: neither tour walks it. Both brands sell a separate seasonal walk, and it closes beyond the first lookout from 11am on 36-degree days
  • Anyone expecting a real breakfast on the coach tour: AAT Kings serves hot drinks and biscuits. SEIT's picnic breakfast is the only meal on either morning

So which one?

Book AAT Kings if this is your one morning in the park and you want Uluru at first light with Kata Tjuta in the same trip. At A$209 to A$219 it is also A$30 to A$40 cheaper, children are cheaper still, and you can cancel the day before. It is the better all-rounder and the safer booking.

Book SEIT if you have already seen or will see Uluru at sunrise or sunset, you want a group of 15 or fewer in a minibus rather than a coach, and you want to eat. A sunrise at the domes themselves is the better-reviewed morning on every platform we read, and it is the one fewer people have done. Just book it knowing it never goes to Uluru, and that the cancellation terms are the tightest of the two.

Do not book either because one is 'the independent local operator'. Since 2019 they have shared an owner. The honest version of the choice is coach and Uluru sunrise for less, or minibus and Kata Tjuta sunrise with breakfast for more.

Know before you go

  • Buy the A$38 park pass online at uluru.gov.au before you arrive. It lasts three consecutive days, covers every walk and viewing area in the park, and both tours assume you have it
  • Bring at least a litre of water, enclosed walking shoes, a hat, and warm layers from May to September; dawn in the desert is cold even when the day will be hot
  • A fly net is worth packing from October to March
  • Dietary needs for SEIT's breakfast have to be given at the time of booking
  • Both tours finish mid-morning at the resort, in time for an afternoon Uluru sunset tour or a dinner under the stars the same day

Details change. We verify every price, duration, departure point and inclusion against the operator's own website, and we date every check, but operators can change them at any time without notice. Always confirm the details that matter to you with the operator before you book.

Good to know

Are AAT Kings and SEIT the same company?

They share an owner. Travel Daily reported on 9 October 2019 that AAT Kings had taken an ownership position in Ayers Rock Resort-based SEIT Outback Australia, which Brett and Kathy Graham founded in 2009. Today SEIT's privacy statement is issued by SEIT Tours Pty Ltd from AAT Kings' parent company's Sydney office with a Travel Corporation compliance address, and AAT Kings' website lists SEIT Outback Tours among its tour styles. The two brands still run different vehicles, itineraries and cancellation terms.

Does the SEIT Kata Tjuta tour include the Uluru sunrise?

No. It drives to Kata Tjuta before dawn and the sunrise you watch is over the domes; Uluru is not on the itinerary. The operator's own itinerary and its booking listing both describe only Kata Tjuta, the picnic breakfast and Walpa Gorge. For Uluru at sunrise, AAT Kings' Y14 starts at Talinguru Nyakunytjaku, or SEIT sells a separate three-hour Highlights of Uluru sunrise tour at A$189.

Do either of them walk the Valley of the Winds?

No. Both walk Walpa Gorge, a 2.6 km return Grade 3 track taking about an hour. The Valley of the Winds is Grade 4, up to 7.4 km, and closes beyond the first lookout from 11am when the temperature reaches 36 degrees. SEIT sells it as a separate April to October walk at A$249 and AAT Kings as an afternoon walk to the Karingana lookout with sunset drinks at A$229 to A$239, scheduled from April to September 2027.

Is the park pass included?

No, on either tour. Parks Australia charges A$38 for an adult for three consecutive days and nothing for anyone under 18. AAT Kings sells the tour with the pass added at A$247; SEIT tells you to buy it online or from the guide. If you are doing anything else inside the park on the same trip, one pass covers it all.

Which is better for children?

AAT Kings. It carries infants under 2 free on a lap and charges A$149 to A$155 for ages 2 to 15. SEIT charges A$60 for every child under 5, because NT law requires a fitted car seat which SEIT supplies, and A$200 from age 5. Two adults and two school-age children pay about A$740 with AAT Kings and A$898 with SEIT.

What if I have to cancel?

AAT Kings refunds in full up to 24 hours before departure. SEIT refunds in full only if you cancel 6 or more days out, half between 2 and 6 days out, and nothing inside 2 days. Both are the operators' own terms as shown on their booking listings in October 2026.

Why does AAT Kings show two prices?

The fare is seasonal. The live booking schedule for the Y14 tour is A$219 an adult to 31 October 2026, A$209 from 1 November 2026 to 31 March 2027 and A$219 again from April 2027, which is why the operator's site says 'from A$209'. SEIT's A$249 is flat all year.